Nashville SC

MLS confirms 2020 alignment

Nashville SC will play in the West for at least one season (probably exactly one season, with Austin Bold joining next season, and two farther-west sides the following year). From League release:

Eastern Conference (13 clubs)

  • Atlanta United
  • Chicago Fire FC
  • Columbus Crew SC
  • D.C. United
  • FC Cincinnati
  • Inter Miami CF
  • Montreal Impact
  • New England Revolution
  • New York City FC
  • New York Red Bulls
  • Orlando City
  • Philadelphia Union
  • Toronto FC

Western Conference (13 clubs)

  • Colorado Rapids
  • FC Dallas
  • Houston Dynamo
  • LAFC
  • LA Galaxy
  • Minnesota United
  • Nashville SC
  • Portland Timbers
  • Real Salt Lake
  • San Jose Earthquakes
  • Seattle Sounders
  • Sporting Kansas City
  • Vancouver Whitecaps

That likely means – as I posted when the home opener was announced – no trip to Mercedes Benz Stadium this year. Of course, the full season structure may still be malleable, so that’s not set in stone. Most likely, NSC will play 10 different East teams, rather than Atlanta twice.

The Boys in Gold open at home against Atlanta United Feb. 29. Recent seasons have seen full intra-conference home-and-home matchups with a single game against each cross-conference side. This year’s structure will see only 10 non-conference opponents on the schedule.

1 comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

<span>%d</span> bloggers like this: